Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

pdf-forge vs PolyDoc

pdf-forge is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by syx-labs. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). PolyDoc is an MCP server published by polydoc.tech. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-14. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacepdf-forgePolyDoc
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 0.3.2
Forks (GitHub): 1
Stars (GitHub): 2
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.1.8
Downloads/month (npm): 840
Downloads/week (npm): 47
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

pdf-forge vs PolyDoc
Factpdf-forgePolyDoc
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)2 (better)0 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)1 (better)0 (worse)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (polydoc-mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published4, secrets among them: 1
Parts of the bundle (differs)1Not a bundle
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/syx-labs/pdf-forgegithub.com/polydoc-tech/polydoc-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

pdf-forge

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

Professional PDF generation with Tailwind CSS. Generates slide presentations (16:9) and A4 documents from any content using a complete design system — typography scales, spacing grids, color palettes, and 15 ready-to-use templates. Renders via Playwright/Chromium. Includes brand customization, anti-AI-sloppy aesthetics (zinc backbone, negative tracking, restrained accents), and an MCP server for Claude Desktop integration.

PolyDoc

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

HTML/URL to PDF, screenshots, e-invoices. PDF/A and PDF/UA output with optional veraPDF verify.

How to run each

pdf-forge As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install pdf-forge@claude-community

PolyDoc As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "POLYDOC_API_KEY=<YOUR_POLYDOC_API_KEY>" --transport stdio polydoc-mcp -- npx -y polydoc-mcp

Requires: POLYDOC_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of pdf-forge publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: pdf-forge · What it can do: PolyDoc · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built