Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

babel-fish vs var.gg Naming Memory

babel-fish is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by TheGlitchKing. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). var.gg Naming Memory is an MCP server published by var.gg. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-24. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacebabel-fishvar.gg Naming Memory
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 2.0.3
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 2.0.0
No figure published
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

babel-fish vs var.gg Naming Memory
Factbabel-fishvar.gg Naming Memory
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)0No figure on GitHub
Forks (GitHub) (differs)0No figure on GitHub
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleRemote server (var.gg/mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedStreamable HTTP
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Hooks it runs (differs)1Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)6Not a bundle
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/theglitchking/babel-fishNot stated
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)no remote endpoint we checkResponded 5 days ago

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

babel-fish

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

Auto-generates a 19-section project map, vocabulary translation layer, and developer skill for any codebase. Introspects routes, models, services, features, infrastructure, and session history to give Claude instant full-stack context. Maps plain-English phrases to exact file paths. Self-updates via pre-commit hook. Iterative install with 90% quality threshold and human-readable grading reports. Supports Python (FastAPI, Django, Flask), TypeScript/JavaScript (Next.js, NestJS, Express), Go, Java, and any stack using docker-compose, Terraform, or Prisma.

var.gg Naming Memory

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Curated multilingual dictionary that names code identifiers from domain concepts (KO/JA/ZH/VI/EN).

How to run each

babel-fish As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install babel-fish@claude-community

var.gg Naming Memory As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http naming-memory https://var.gg/mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only var.gg Naming Memory has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: babel-fish · What it can do: var.gg Naming Memory · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built