Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

claude-codex-loop vs SkillGild

claude-codex-loop is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Whisker17. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). SkillGild is an MCP server published by SkillGild. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-14. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplaceclaude-codex-loopSkillGild
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 2.3.1
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.1.5
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

claude-codex-loop vs SkillGild
Factclaude-codex-loopSkillGild
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub)00
Forks (GitHub)00
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (https://github.com/SkillGild/skillgild/releases/download/v0.1.5/skillgild.mcpb)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published1, secrets among them: 1
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/whisker17/claude-codex-loopgithub.com/skillgild/skillgild
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

claude-codex-loop

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

claude-codex-loop orchestrates a structured collaboration loop between Claude Code (designer/reviewer) and OpenAI Codex (auditor/implementer). It runs two stages — design and code — each with up to 5 rounds of iterative review plus an independent validation pass. How it works: - Brainstorming (optional) — Explore requirements interactively before designing - Design stage — Claude Code writes a spec, Codex audits it independently each round until convergence - User gate — You review and approve the design before any code is written - Code stage — Codex implements, Claude Code reviews the full diff each round - Independent validation — A separate audit pass with zero prior context to catch groupthink All work happens on a dedicated branch. Cancel anytime with /cancel-review to cleanly restore your starting state. Commands: /review-loop <task>, /cancel-review

SkillGild

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Search and run hosted AI agent skills for Claude Code, Codex, Cursor and Gemini CLI.

How to run each

claude-codex-loop As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install claude-codex-loop@claude-community

SkillGild

No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.

Requires: SKILLGILD_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of claude-codex-loop publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: claude-codex-loop · What it can do: SkillGild · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built