mcpg vs GitLab MCP Server
mcpg is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by yn01. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). GitLab MCP Server is an MCP server published by jmrplens. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-14. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-community | Listed Version: 1.0.0 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 0 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 3.2.0 Forks (GitHub): 5 Stars (GitHub): 45 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | mcpg | GitLab MCP Server |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 0 (worse) | 45 (better) |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 0 (worse) | 5 (better) |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | Installs as a plugin bundle | Remote server (mcp.jmrp.io/gitlab) |
| Transport (differs) | Not stated | Streamable HTTP |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | Not published | 19, secrets among them: 1 |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 1 | Not a bundle |
| Licence | Not stated | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/yn01/claude-plugins | github.com/jmrplens/gitlab-mcp-server |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | no remote endpoint we check | Responded 8 h ago, requires a key |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
mcpg
Generate MCP server scaffold and tool implementation code from a natural language description. Describe what tools you want in plain language, choose TypeScript or Python, and get a working server with implemented tool handlers — ready to install into Claude Code. Supports both direct mode (with arguments) and interactive mode (step-by-step prompts).
GitLab MCP Server
Go MCP server for GitLab: 2 dynamic tools reach ~872 actions on Free/CE, up to ~1098 on Ultimate.
How to run each
mcpg As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install mcpg@claude-community
GitLab MCP Server As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http gitlab-mcp-server https://mcp.jmrp.io/gitlab --header "Authorization: Bearer <YOUR_TOKEN>"
Requires: GITLAB_TOKEN (secret), Authorization header
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Only GitLab MCP Server has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of mcpg publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: mcpg · What it can do: GitLab MCP Server · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.