Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

ClearPolicy vs OPA MCP

ClearPolicy is an MCP server published by clearpolicy.app. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). OPA MCP is an MCP server published by OrygnsCode. Marketplaces we read that list it: 2 (Official MCP Registry, npm registry (MCP servers)). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-28. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceClearPolicyOPA MCP
Official MCP Registry Listed
Version: 1.0.1
No figure published
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 0.9.1
Downloads/month (npm): 1 381
Downloads/week (npm): 459
Forks (GitHub): 1
Stars (GitHub): 8
Not marked · First seen
npm registry (MCP servers) Not listed Listed
Version: 0.9.1
Downloads/month (npm): 1 381
Downloads/week (npm): 459
Forks (GitHub): 1
Stars (GitHub): 8
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

ClearPolicy vs OPA MCP
FactClearPolicyOPA MCP
Marketplaces that list it (differs)1 (worse)2 (better)
Stars (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub8
Forks (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub1
Last release (differs)Not published2026-10-24
Where it runs (differs)Remote server (api.clearpolicy.app/mcp)On your machine (@orygn/opa-mcp)
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published7, secrets among them: 2
Licence (differs)Not statedMIT
Repository (differs)Not statedgithub.com/orygnscode/opa-mcp-server
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)02
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)Not responding since 2026-10-25no remote endpoint we check

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

ClearPolicy

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Authenticated MCP server for ClearPolicy policy and compliance workflows.

OPA MCP

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Author, validate, debug, and explain OPA Rego policies through any MCP-compatible client.

How to run each

ClearPolicy As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http clearpolicy https://api.clearpolicy.app/mcp

OPA MCP As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "GITHUB_TOKEN=<YOUR_GITHUB_TOKEN>" --env "OPA_TOKEN=<YOUR_OPA_TOKEN>" --transport stdio opa-mcp -- npx -y @orygn/opa-mcp

Requires: GITHUB_TOKEN (secret), OPA_TOKEN (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only ClearPolicy has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of ClearPolicy publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: ClearPolicy · What it can do: OPA MCP · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Package data comes from the public npm registry (registry.npmjs.org). Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built