Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Fibre Compare vs io.github.mrfentmen/postcodes-mcp

Fibre Compare is an MCP server published by fibrecompare.com. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). io.github.mrfentmen/postcodes-mcp is an MCP server published by mrfentmen. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-21. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceFibre Compareio.github.mrfentmen/postcodes-mcp
Official MCP Registry Listed
Version: 0.1.0
No figure published
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Downloads/month (npm): 566
Downloads/week (npm): 73
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Fibre Compare vs io.github.mrfentmen/postcodes-mcp
FactFibre Compareio.github.mrfentmen/postcodes-mcp
Marketplaces that list it11
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Remote server (fibrecompare.com/mcp)On your machine (postcodes-mcp)
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)Not statedgithub.com/mrfentmen/postcodes-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)Responded 6 days agono remote endpoint we check

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Fibre Compare

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Check which fibre and broadband deals are available at a UK postcode or address (fibrecompare.com).

io.github.mrfentmen/postcodes-mcp

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

UK postcode lookup from postcodes.io. No key required.

How to run each

Fibre Compare As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http availability https://fibrecompare.com/mcp

io.github.mrfentmen/postcodes-mcp As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio postcodes-mcp -- npx -y postcodes-mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only Fibre Compare has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: Fibre Compare · What it can do: io.github.mrfentmen/postcodes-mcp · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built