Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

com.googleapis.mapstools/mcp vs Google Maps MCP Server

com.googleapis.mapstools/mcp is an MCP server published by mapstools.googleapis.com. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). Google Maps MCP Server is an MCP server published by cablate. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-14. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacecom.googleapis.mapstools/mcpGoogle Maps MCP Server
Official MCP Registry Listed
Version: 1.0.0
No figure published
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 0.0.69
Downloads/month (npm): 8 855
Downloads/week (npm): 964
Forks (GitHub): 94
Stars (GitHub): 471
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

com.googleapis.mapstools/mcp vs Google Maps MCP Server
Factcom.googleapis.mapstools/mcpGoogle Maps MCP Server
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub471
Forks (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub94
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Remote server (mapstools.googleapis.com/mcp)On your machine (@cablate/mcp-google-map)
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published2, secrets among them: 1
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)Not statedgithub.com/cablate/mcp-google-map
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)not checked yetno remote endpoint we check

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

com.googleapis.mapstools/mcp

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Ground your AI applications with trusted geospatial data from Google Maps.

Google Maps MCP Server

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

18 Google Maps tools for AI agents — geocode, search, directions, weather, and more.

How to run each

com.googleapis.mapstools/mcp As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http com-googleapis-mapstools-mcp https://mapstools.googleapis.com/mcp

Google Maps MCP Server As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "GOOGLE_MAPS_API_KEY=<YOUR_GOOGLE_MAPS_API_KEY>" --transport stdio google-map -- npx -y @cablate/mcp-google-map

Requires: GOOGLE_MAPS_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of com.googleapis.mapstools/mcp publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: com.googleapis.mapstools/mcp · What it can do: Google Maps MCP Server · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built