What's That Model? vs Grill
What's That Model? is an MCP server published by whatsthatmodel.com. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). Grill is an MCP server published by mtangoz. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-11-02. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Official MCP Registry | Listed Version: 1.0.0 No figure published Not marked · First seen |
Listed Version: 0.1.0 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 1 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | What's That Model? | Grill |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 1 |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 0 |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | Remote server (whatsthatmodel.com/mcp) | On your machine (https://github.com/mtangoz/grill/releases/download/v0.1.0/grill.mcpb) |
| Transport (differs) | Streamable HTTP | stdio |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | Not published | 1, secrets among them: 1 |
| Licence (differs) | Not stated | MIT |
| Repository (differs) | Not stated | github.com/mtangoz/grill |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | Responded 4 days ago | no remote endpoint we check |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
What's That Model?
Sourced AI video/image capabilities, explained task recommendations and verified access context.
Grill
A second opinion from an unrelated AI model before you commit to a decision.
How to run each
What's That Model? As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http whats-that-model https://whatsthatmodel.com/mcp
Grill
No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.
Requires: GRILL_API_KEY (secret)
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Only What's That Model? has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of What's That Model? publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: What's That Model? · What it can do: Grill · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.