substack-ops vs FastMCP server for Substack — publish Notes and posts, pull analytics, manage dr
substack-ops is an MCP server published by 06ketan. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). FastMCP server for Substack — publish Notes and posts, pull analytics, manage dr is an MCP server published by adelaidasofia. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-16. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Official MCP Registry | Listed Version: 0.3.5 Downloads/month (PyPI): 140 Downloads/week (PyPI): 36 Forks (GitHub): 1 Stars (GitHub): 1 Not marked · First seen |
Listed Version: 0.1.0 Forks (GitHub): 1 Stars (GitHub): 0 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | substack-ops | FastMCP server for Substack — publish Notes and posts, pull analytics, manage dr |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 1 (better) | 0 (worse) |
| Forks (GitHub) | 1 | 1 |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (substack-ops) | On your machine (https://github.com/adelaidasofia/substack-mcp/releases/download/v0.1.0/substack-mcp.mcpb) |
| Transport | stdio | stdio |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | 5, secrets among them: 1 | 1, secrets among them: 1 |
| Licence | Not stated | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/06ketan/substack-ops | github.com/adelaidasofia/substack-mcp |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 4 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
substack-ops
Substack CLI + 26-tool MCP server. Your IDE drafts replies via propose_reply. No API keys.
FastMCP server for Substack — publish Notes and posts, pull analytics, manage dr
FastMCP server for Substack — publish Notes and posts, pull analytics, manage drafts, pluggable…
How to run each
substack-ops As a local MCP server: PyPI package
claude mcp add --env "SUBSTACK_SESSION_TOKEN=<YOUR_SUBSTACK_SESSION_TOKEN>" --transport stdio substack-ops -- uvx substack-ops mcp serve
Requires: SUBSTACK_SESSION_TOKEN (secret)
FastMCP server for Substack — publish Notes and posts, pull analytics, manage dr
No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.
Requires: SUBSTACK_SID_COOKIE (secret)
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
Only substack-ops asks for
SUBSTACK_OPS_LLM_CMDSUBSTACK_OPS_MCP_PATHSUBSTACK_PUBLICATION_URLSUBSTACK_SESSION_TOKEN (secret)SUBSTACK_USER_ID
Only FastMCP server for Substack — publish Notes and posts, pull analytics, manage dr asks for
SUBSTACK_SID_COOKIE (secret)
Settings as each marketplace publishes them. Asking for fewer is not better in itself.
What it can do: substack-ops · What it can do: FastMCP server for Substack — publish Notes and posts, pull analytics, manage dr · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.