Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Agent Workspace MCP vs Coder

Agent Workspace MCP is an MCP server published by HrRodan. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). Coder is an MCP server published by coder. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-29. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceAgent Workspace MCPCoder
Official MCP Registry Listed
Version: 1.4.129
Forks (GitHub): 1
Stars (GitHub): 1
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 2.38.4
Forks (GitHub): 1 642
Stars (GitHub): 17 220
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Agent Workspace MCP vs Coder
FactAgent Workspace MCPCoder
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)1 (worse)17 220 (better)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)1 (worse)1 642 (better)
Last release (differs)2026-10-26 (worse)2026-10-28 (better)
Where it runs (differs)On your machine (ghcr.io/hrrodan/agent-workspace-mcp:1.4.129)Not stated
Transport (differs)stdioStreamable HTTP
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/hrrodan/agent-workspace-mcpgithub.com/coder/coder
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)83
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Agent Workspace MCP

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

A sandboxed, agentic workspace providing secure filesystem, bash, and uv-powered Python execution.

Coder

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Manage Coder workspaces, templates, and cloud development environments

How to run each

Agent Workspace MCP As a local MCP server: Docker image

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio agent-workspace-mcp -- docker run -i --rm ghcr.io/hrrodan/agent-workspace-mcp:1.4.129

Coder

No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: Agent Workspace MCP · What it can do: Coder · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built