MicroScrape vs io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp
MicroScrape is an MCP server published by Luci-hue. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp is an MCP server published by microsoft. Marketplaces we read that list it: 4 (Official MCP Registry, Claude Code: claude-plugins-official, Cursor: cursor/plugins, Docker MCP Catalog). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-17. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Official MCP Registry | Listed Version: 1.0.0 No figure published Not marked · First seen |
Listed Version: 0.0.82 Downloads/month (npm): 31 345 222 Downloads/week (npm): 6 403 349 Forks (GitHub): 3 265 Stars (GitHub): 38 266 Not marked · First seen |
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-official | Not listed | Listed Version: not stated Forks (GitHub): 4 390 Stars (GitHub): 40 325 Not marked · First seen |
| Cursor: cursor/plugins | Not listed | Listed Version: 1.0.0 Forks (GitHub): 1 158 Stars (GitHub): 11 894 Not marked · First seen |
| Docker MCP Catalog | Not listed | Listed Version: sha256:8771dc4666e7 Forks (GitHub): 3 265 Pulls (Docker Hub): 2 487 665 Stars (Docker Hub): 38 Stars (GitHub): 38 266 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | MicroScrape | io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 1 (worse) | 4 (better) |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 40 325 |
| Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs) | No figure on Docker Hub | 2 487 665 |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 4 390 |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | Remote server (microscrape-production.up.railway.app/mcp) | On your machine (@playwright/mcp) |
| Transport (differs) | Streamable HTTP | stdio |
| Tools it declares (differs) | Not published | 23 |
| Environment variables it asks for | Not published | Not published |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | Not a bundle | 1 |
| Licence (differs) | Not stated | MIT |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/luci-hue/microscrape | github.com/microsoft/playwright-mcp |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | Answered with HTTP 404 (31 h ago) | no remote endpoint we check |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
MicroScrape
Pay-per-request webpage-to-Markdown extraction for AI agents. $0.005 USDC via x402 on Solana.
io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp
Playwright Tools for MCP
How to run each
MicroScrape As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http microscrape https://microscrape-production.up.railway.app/mcp
io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp As a local MCP server: npm package
claude mcp add --transport stdio playwright-mcp -- npx -y @playwright/mcp
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Only MicroScrape has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
The marketplaces of MicroScrape publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.
Settings each asks for
Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.
What it can do: MicroScrape · What it can do: io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/cursor/plugins/blob/HEAD/.cursor-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.