Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

MemoCat — Shared AI Memory vs aide-memory

MemoCat — Shared AI Memory is an MCP server published by MontyGovernance. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). aide-memory is an MCP server published by aide-memory. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-29. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceMemoCat — Shared AI Memoryaide-memory
Official MCP Registry Listed
Version: 0.4.3
Downloads/month (PyPI): 1 030
Downloads/week (PyPI): 70
Forks (GitHub): 6
Stars (GitHub): 23
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 0.6.3
Downloads/month (npm): 154
Downloads/week (npm): 35
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 2
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

MemoCat — Shared AI Memory vs aide-memory
FactMemoCat — Shared AI Memoryaide-memory
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)23 (better)2 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)6 (better)0 (worse)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)On your machine (memocat-mcp)On your machine (aide-memory)
Transportstdiostdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)2, secrets among them: 1Not published
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/montygovernance/memocat-mcpgithub.com/aide-memory/aide-memory
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

MemoCat — Shared AI Memory

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

One shared, persistent memory across AI agents and systems, with semantic recall and live updates.

aide-memory

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Persistent memory layer for AI coding agents — your agent remembers what you taught it.

How to run each

MemoCat — Shared AI Memory As a local MCP server: PyPI package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "MONTYCAT_URI=<YOUR_MONTYCAT_URI>" --transport stdio memocat-mcp -- uvx memocat-mcp

Requires: MONTYCAT_URI (secret)

aide-memory As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio aide-memory -- npx -y aide-memory mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of aide-memory publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: MemoCat — Shared AI Memory · What it can do: aide-memory · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built