Kibana vs New Relic MCP Server
Kibana is an MCP server published by TocharianOU. Marketplaces we read that list it: 2 (Official MCP Registry, npm registry (MCP servers)). New Relic MCP Server is an MCP server published by newrelic-partners. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-11-08. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Official MCP Registry | Listed Version: 0.11.1 Downloads/month (npm): 7 281 Downloads/week (npm): 1 593 Forks (GitHub): 28 Stars (GitHub): 86 Not marked · First seen |
Listed Version: 1.0.1-preview No figure published Not marked · First seen |
| npm registry (MCP servers) | Listed Version: 0.11.1 Downloads/month (npm): 7 281 Downloads/week (npm): 1 593 Forks (GitHub): 28 Stars (GitHub): 86 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | Kibana | New Relic MCP Server |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 2 (better) | 1 (worse) |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 86 | No figure on GitHub |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 28 | No figure on GitHub |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (@tocharianou/mcp-server-kibana) | Remote server (mcp.newrelic.com/mcp) |
| Transport (differs) | stdio | Streamable HTTP |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | 7, secrets among them: 3 | Not published |
| Licence (differs) | Apache-2.0 | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/tocharianou/mcp-server-kibana | Not stated |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | no remote endpoint we check | Status out of date: last check 43 h ago returned HTTP 401 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
Kibana
Kibana MCP Server with dynamic API discovery and comprehensive Elastic Stack integration
New Relic MCP Server
Monitor, troubleshoot, and optimize your technology stack with Intelligent Observability.
How to run each
Kibana As a local MCP server: npm package
claude mcp add --env "KIBANA_API_KEY=<YOUR_KIBANA_API_KEY>" --env "KIBANA_PASSWORD=<YOUR_KIBANA_PASSWORD>" --env "KIBANA_URL=<YOUR_KIBANA_URL>" --env "MCP_BEARER_TOKEN=<YOUR_MCP_BEARER_TOKEN>" --env "MCP_TRANSPORT=<YOUR_MCP_TRANSPORT>" --transport stdio kibana -- npx -y @tocharianou/mcp-server-kibana
Requires: KIBANA_API_KEY (secret), KIBANA_PASSWORD (secret), KIBANA_URL, MCP_BEARER_TOKEN (secret), MCP_TRANSPORT
New Relic MCP Server As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http new-relic-mcp-server https://mcp.newrelic.com/mcp/ --header "api-key: <YOUR_API_KEY>"
Requires: api-key header
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Only New Relic MCP Server has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of New Relic MCP Server publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: Kibana · What it can do: New Relic MCP Server · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Package data comes from the public npm registry (registry.npmjs.org). Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.