Outline MCP Server vs Comment.io
Outline MCP Server is an MCP server published by Vortiago. Marketplaces we read that list it: 3 (Official MCP Registry, Claude Code: claude-plugins-community, Community GitHub marketplaces). Comment.io is an MCP server published by comment-hq. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-20. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Official MCP Registry | Listed Version: 1.10.1 Downloads/month (PyPI): 1 398 Downloads/week (PyPI): 337 Forks (GitHub): 45 Stars (GitHub): 156 Not marked · First seen |
Listed Version: 1.0.0 No figure published Not marked · First seen |
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-community | Listed Version: 1.10.1 Forks (GitHub): 45 Stars (GitHub): 156 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | Outline MCP Server | Comment.io |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 3 (better) | 1 (worse) |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 156 | No figure on GitHub |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 45 | No figure on GitHub |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (mcp-outline) | Remote server (comment.io/mcp) |
| Transport (differs) | stdio | Streamable HTTP |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | 6, secrets among them: 1 | Not published |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 3 | Not a bundle |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/vortiago/mcp-outline | Not stated |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 2 | 0 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | no remote endpoint we check | Responded 43 h ago, requires a key |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
Outline MCP Server
Connect AI assistants to Outline for document search, reading, and management
Comment.io
Read, edit and improve shared documents and knowledge with people and agents.
How to run each
Outline MCP Server As a local MCP server: PyPI package
claude mcp add --env "OUTLINE_API_KEY=<YOUR_OUTLINE_API_KEY>" --transport stdio mcp-outline -- uvx mcp-outline
Requires: OUTLINE_API_KEY (secret)
Comment.io As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http comment https://comment.io/mcp
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Only Comment.io has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of Comment.io publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: Outline MCP Server · What it can do: Comment.io · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.