Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Self-hosted GitHub MCP server vs Coder

Self-hosted GitHub MCP server is an MCP server published by adelaidasofia. Marketplaces we read that list it: 3 (Official MCP Registry, Claude Code: claude-plugins-community, Community GitHub marketplaces). Coder is an MCP server published by coder. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-13. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceSelf-hosted GitHub MCP serverCoder
Official MCP Registry Listed
Version: 0.1.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 2.37.4
Forks (GitHub): 1 624
Stars (GitHub): 16 987
Not marked · First seen
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 0.1.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen
Not listed

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Self-hosted GitHub MCP server vs Coder
FactSelf-hosted GitHub MCP serverCoder
Marketplaces that list it (differs)3 (better)1 (worse)
Stars (GitHub) (differs)0 (worse)16 987 (better)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)0 (worse)1 624 (better)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)On your machine (https://github.com/adelaidasofia/github-mcp/releases/download/v0.1.0/github-mcp.mcpb)Not stated
Transport (differs)stdioStreamable HTTP
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)1, secrets among them: 1Not published
Hooks it runs (differs)1Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)2Not a bundle
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/adelaidasofia/github-mcpgithub.com/coder/coder
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)20
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Self-hosted GitHub MCP server

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Self-hosted GitHub MCP server. PAT auth, stdio transport, transport-agnostic so it works with…

Coder

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Manage Coder workspaces, templates, and cloud development environments

How to run each

Self-hosted GitHub MCP server As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install github-mcp@claude-community

Requires: GITHUB_TOKEN (secret)

Coder

No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of Coder publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: Self-hosted GitHub MCP server · What it can do: Coder · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built