Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

agentguard vs Vaara

agentguard is an MCP server published by agentwares. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). Vaara is an MCP server published by vaaraio. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-18. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceagentguardVaara
Official MCP Registry Listed
Version: 0.1.9
Downloads/month (npm): 1 131
Downloads/week (npm): 862
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 2.15.0
Downloads/month (PyPI): 7 475
Downloads/week (PyPI): 2 009
Forks (GitHub): 1
Stars (GitHub): 15
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

agentguard vs Vaara
FactagentguardVaara
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub15
Forks (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub1
Last release (differs)Not published2026-10-18
Where it runs (differs)On your machine (@agentwares/agentguard)On your machine (vaara)
Transportstdiostdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for2, secrets among them: 02, secrets among them: 0
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/agentwares/agentguardgithub.com/vaaraio/vaara
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)012
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

agentguard

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

MCP policy proxy: spend caps, approvals for destructive tools, kill switch, dry-run, audit log.

Vaara

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Accountable autonomy proxy: gating, tamper-evident audit, time anchor for every action

How to run each

agentguard As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio agentguard -- npx -y @agentwares/agentguard

Vaara As a local MCP server: PyPI package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio vaara -- uvx --from vaara vaara-mcp-proxy vaara --upstream "<YOUR_UPSTREAM>"

Requires: --upstream

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Only agentguard asks for

  • AGENTGUARD_CONFIG
  • AGENTGUARD_KILL

Only Vaara asks for

  • VAARA_API_KEY
  • VAARA_DB

Settings as each marketplace publishes them. Asking for fewer is not better in itself.

What it can do: agentguard · What it can do: Vaara · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built