Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

io.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-server vs io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp

io.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-server is an MCP server published by cyanheads. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp is an MCP server published by microsoft. Marketplaces we read that list it: 5 (Official MCP Registry, Claude Code: claude-plugins-official, Cursor: cursor/plugins, Docker MCP Catalog, Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-29. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplaceio.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-serverio.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp
Official MCP Registry Listed
Version: 0.2.0
Downloads/month (npm): 623
Downloads/week (npm): 63
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 1
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 0.0.82
Downloads/month (npm): 24 354 243
Downloads/week (npm): 5 573 528
Forks (GitHub): 3 336
Stars (GitHub): 38 752
Not marked · First seen
Claude Code: claude-plugins-official Not listed Listed
Version: not stated
Forks (GitHub): 4 698
Stars (GitHub): 45 000
Not marked · First seen
Cursor: cursor/plugins Not listed Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 1 447
Stars (GitHub): 14 407
Not marked · First seen
Docker MCP Catalog Not listed Listed
Version: sha256:8771dc4666e7
Forks (GitHub): 3 336
Pulls (Docker Hub): 2 574 534
Stars (Docker Hub): 38
Stars (GitHub): 38 752
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

io.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-server vs io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp
Factio.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-serverio.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp
Marketplaces that list it (differs)1 (worse)5 (better)
Stars (GitHub) (differs)1 (worse)45 000 (better)
Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs)No figure on Docker Hub2 574 534
Forks (GitHub) (differs)0 (worse)4 698 (better)
Last release (differs)2026-10-26Not published
Where it runs (differs)Remote server (openchargemap.caseyjhand.com/mcp)On your machine (@playwright/mcp)
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPstdio
Tools it declares (differs)Not published23
Environment variables it asks for (differs)10, secrets among them: 1Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)Not a bundle1
Licence (differs)Not statedMIT
Repository (differs)github.com/cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-servergithub.com/microsoft/playwright-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days22
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)Responded 4 days agono remote endpoint we check

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

io.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-server

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Find EV charging stations, detail, and reliability check-ins via the global Open Charge Map.

io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Playwright Tools for MCP

How to run each

io.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-server As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http openchargemap-mcp-server https://openchargemap.caseyjhand.com/mcp

Requires: OPENCHARGEMAP_API_KEY (secret)

io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio playwright-mcp -- npx -y @playwright/mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only io.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-server has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

Only io.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-server has

  • openchargemap_find_stations
  • openchargemap_get_station
  • openchargemap_get_station_comments
  • openchargemap_lookup_reference

Only io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp has

  • browser_click
  • browser_close
  • browser_console_messages
  • browser_drag
  • browser_drop
  • browser_evaluate
  • browser_file_upload
  • browser_fill_form
  • browser_handle_dialog
  • browser_hover
  • browser_navigate
  • browser_navigate_back
Show the remaining 11
  • browser_network_request
  • browser_network_requests
  • browser_press_key
  • browser_resize
  • browser_run_code_unsafe
  • browser_select_option
  • browser_snapshot
  • browser_tabs
  • browser_take_screenshot
  • browser_type
  • browser_wait_for

Both have

None

Tool names as the marketplaces declare them and as Ext Ops observed them on the endpoints (io.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-server as of 2026-10-13). More tools is not better in itself: compare what each needs for the job.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: io.github.cyanheads/openchargemap-mcp-server · What it can do: io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/cursor/plugins/blob/HEAD/.cursor-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built