Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Marmot Data Catalog vs Data Aggregator

Marmot Data Catalog is an MCP server published by marmotdata. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). Data Aggregator is an MCP server published by musharna. Marketplaces we read that list it: 2 (Official MCP Registry, PyPI (MCP servers)). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-26. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceMarmot Data CatalogData Aggregator
Official MCP Registry Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 31
Stars (GitHub): 625
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 0.75.4
Downloads/month (PyPI): 17 008
Downloads/week (PyPI): 1 633
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 4
Not marked · First seen
PyPI (MCP servers) Not listed Listed
Version: 0.75.4
Downloads/month (PyPI): 17 008
Downloads/week (PyPI): 1 633
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 4
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Marmot Data Catalog vs Data Aggregator
FactMarmot Data CatalogData Aggregator
Marketplaces that list it (differs)1 (worse)2 (better)
Stars (GitHub) (differs)625 (better)4 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)31 (better)0 (worse)
Last release (differs)Not published2026-10-20
Where it runs (differs)Not statedOn your machine (data-aggregator-mcp)
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published12, secrets among them: 4
Licence (differs)Not statedMIT
Repository (differs)github.com/marmotdata/marmotgithub.com/musharna/data-aggregator-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)04
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Marmot Data Catalog

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Open-source data catalog. Search assets, explore lineage, and find ownership.

Data Aggregator

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Find & fetch research datasets across 21 archives, omics registries, and literature sources.

How to run each

Marmot Data Catalog

No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.

Data Aggregator As a local MCP server: PyPI package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "DATA_GOV_API_KEY=<YOUR_DATA_GOV_API_KEY>" --env "EMBEDDING_API_KEY=<YOUR_EMBEDDING_API_KEY>" --env "LLM_API_KEY=<YOUR_LLM_API_KEY>" --env "NCBI_API_KEY=<YOUR_NCBI_API_KEY>" --transport stdio data-aggregator-mcp -- uvx data-aggregator-mcp

Requires: DATA_GOV_API_KEY (secret), EMBEDDING_API_KEY (secret), LLM_API_KEY (secret), NCBI_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of Marmot Data Catalog publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: Marmot Data Catalog · What it can do: Data Aggregator · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Package data comes from the Python Package Index (pypi.org). Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built