MCP DB Connect vs DB MCP Server
MCP DB Connect is an MCP server published by phatngoit. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). DB MCP Server is an MCP server published by stucchi. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-18. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Official MCP Registry | Listed Version: 0.1.21 Downloads/month (npm): 311 Downloads/week (npm): 52 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 1 Not marked · First seen |
Listed Version: 1.2.1 Downloads/month (PyPI): 221 Downloads/week (PyPI): 63 Forks (GitHub): 1 Stars (GitHub): 2 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | MCP DB Connect | DB MCP Server |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 1 (worse) | 2 (better) |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 0 (worse) | 1 (better) |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (mcp-db-connect) | On your machine (db-mcp-server) |
| Transport | stdio | stdio |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | 1, secrets among them: 1 | 13, secrets among them: 3 |
| Licence | Not stated | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/phatngoit/mcp-db | github.com/stucchi/db-mcp-server |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
MCP DB Connect
MCP server for Oracle, MSSQL, PostgreSQL, MySQL, SQLite, MongoDB, and Qdrant vector search access.
DB MCP Server
Database MCP server for MySQL, PostgreSQL, MongoDB, and SQLite with SSH tunneling support.
How to run each
MCP DB Connect As a local MCP server: npm package
claude mcp add --env "MCP_DB_CONFIG=<YOUR_MCP_DB_CONFIG>" --transport stdio mcp-db-connect -- npx -y mcp-db-connect start
Requires: MCP_DB_CONFIG (secret)
DB MCP Server As a local MCP server: PyPI package
claude mcp add --env "DB_DATABASE=<YOUR_DB_DATABASE>" --env "DB_PASSWORD=<YOUR_DB_PASSWORD>" --env "DB_TYPE=<YOUR_DB_TYPE>" --env "DB_URL=<YOUR_DB_URL>" --env "SSH_PASSWORD=<YOUR_SSH_PASSWORD>" --transport stdio db -- uvx db-mcp-server
Requires: DB_DATABASE, DB_PASSWORD (secret), DB_TYPE, DB_URL (secret), SSH_PASSWORD (secret)
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
Only MCP DB Connect asks for
MCP_DB_CONFIG (secret)
Only DB MCP Server asks for
DB_DATABASEDB_HOSTDB_MODEDB_PASSWORD (secret)DB_PORTDB_TYPEDB_URL (secret)DB_USERSSH_HOSTSSH_KEYSSH_PASSWORD (secret)SSH_PORT
Show the remaining 1
SSH_USER
Settings as each marketplace publishes them. Asking for fewer is not better in itself.
What it can do: MCP DB Connect · What it can do: DB MCP Server · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.