Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

GitMCP vs Reuse Before Generate

GitMCP is an MCP server published by docker. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). Reuse Before Generate is an MCP server published by aradar46. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-15. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceGitMCPReuse Before Generate
Docker MCP Catalog Listed
Version: not stated
No figure published
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.2.3
Downloads/month (npm): 623
Downloads/week (npm): 60
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 6
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

GitMCP vs Reuse Before Generate
FactGitMCPReuse Before Generate
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub6
Forks (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub0
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Remote server (gitmcp.io/docs)On your machine (reuse-before-generate)
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPstdio
Tools it declares (differs)5Not published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published1, secrets among them: 1
Licence (differs)Apache-2.0Not stated
Repository (differs)Not statedgithub.com/aradar46/reuse-before-generate
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)Responded 32 h agono remote endpoint we check

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

GitMCP

In its own words, on Docker MCP Catalog:

Tools for interacting with Git repositories.

Reuse Before Generate

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Checks whether your idea already exists before your agent builds it. Searches GitHub, npm, Python.

How to run each

GitMCP As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http gitmcp https://gitmcp.io/docs

Reuse Before Generate As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "GITHUB_TOKEN=<YOUR_GITHUB_TOKEN>" --transport stdio reuse-before-generate -- npx -y reuse-before-generate

Requires: GITHUB_TOKEN (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only GitMCP has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

The marketplaces of Reuse Before Generate publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of GitMCP publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: GitMCP · What it can do: Reuse Before Generate · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built