Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Obsidian vs Clean Notes

Obsidian is an MCP server published by MarkusPfundstein. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). Clean Notes is an MCP server published by cleannotes.app. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-20. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceObsidianClean Notes
Docker MCP Catalog Listed
Version: sha256:0eba4c05742a
Forks (GitHub): 506
Pulls (Docker Hub): 144 190
Stars (Docker Hub): 31
Stars (GitHub): 4 482
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 1.0.0
No figure published
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Obsidian vs Clean Notes
FactObsidianClean Notes
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)4 482No figure on GitHub
Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs)144 190No figure on Docker Hub
Forks (GitHub) (differs)506No figure on GitHub
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)On your machine (mcp/obsidian)Remote server (cleannotes.app/mcp)
Transport (differs)stdioStreamable HTTP
Tools it declares (differs)12Not published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)2, secrets among them: 1Not published
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/markuspfundstein/mcp-obsidianNot stated
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)02
First seen (differs)2026-10-112026-10-14
Endpoint at the last check (differs)no remote endpoint we checkResponded 12 h ago

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Obsidian

In its own words, on Docker MCP Catalog:

MCP server that interacts with Obsidian via the Obsidian rest API community plugin.

Clean Notes

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Kanban tasks and project notes for AI clients, with OAuth and per-project read or write grants.

How to run each

Obsidian As a local MCP server: Docker image

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "OBSIDIAN_API_KEY=<YOUR_OBSIDIAN_API_KEY>" --transport stdio obsidian -- docker run -i --rm -e OBSIDIAN_API_KEY mcp/obsidian

Requires: OBSIDIAN_API_KEY (secret)

Clean Notes As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http clean-notes https://cleannotes.app/mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only Clean Notes has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

The marketplaces of Clean Notes publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of Clean Notes publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: Obsidian · What it can do: Clean Notes · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built